The Official Photoblog of the Seattle Thunderbirds

Mid-Road Trip Photo Break

Hello everyone!

Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a week, but there hasn’t been anything new to post.  I’ll try to get some extra content during the next home stretch to give you something new to look at while I’m not following the Thunderbirds on the road.
To try and make up for my lack of posts, how about more game photos?  I have some form the first two home games I’d love to share with you all.

These first few are from the home opener September 25 against Portland.

Center Charles Wells skates up the ice with the puck during the Sept. 25 home opener against Portland.

Canon 7D, 185mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

Defenseman Brenden Dillon controls the puck during the Thunderbirds’ 4-1 victory over the Winterhawks.

Canon 7D, 165mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual


The Thunderbirds celebrate a goal in the 3rd period of their home opener Sept. 25 against the Portland Winterhawks.

Canon 7D, 165mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual


Ok, so there were only three from the home opener.  I had a bad game that night (unlike the T-Birds with their 4-1 win), and didn’t get too many great photos.   Oh well, it happens and I’m used to it.  The next game, the game October 1 against Lethbridge, however, was much better for me.  I feel some of these were good enough to go into the game post if they matched the theme I picked for it better.

Rightwinger Jacob Doty takes the puck past the center line during a game against Lethbridge Oct. 1.

Canon 7D, 170mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual


Center Colin Jacobs has a clear view of the puck after being knocked to the ice during an Oct. 1 game against the Lethbridge Hurricanes.

Canon 7D, 185mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

This next photo I nearly used in the game thread.  I ended up going with one a few frames and about a second later (I love having a camera that takes 8 frames per second).

Hurricane leftwinger Jacob Berglund takes a shot on goal with Thunderbird defenseman Ryan Aasman (behind) in pursuit.  T-Birds goalie Calvin Pickard blocked the shot and the T-Birds won the game 3-2 via a 2-0 shootout win.

Canon 7D, 170mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual


Rightwinger Marcel Noebels battles Lethbridge defenseman Mike Reddington for the puck during a game Oct. 1

Canon 7D, 155mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual


Goalie Calvin Pickard saves a shot by Lethbridge leftwinger Max Ross.

Canon 7D, 200mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th,


Now for this next photo, I’m not quite sure why I’m including it.  It’s not the best photo ever, there’s just something about it that draws my eye every time I pass it.  I figure that has to mean something, so I decided to include it in this blog.  Let me know what you guys think of it in the comments section below…

Center Colin Jacobs tries to get past Hurricane defenseman Daniel Johnston.

Canon 7D, 115mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

This next photo was taken just a few frames after the previous one.  Maybe that’s why I included that picture just before, to tell how that possession ended?  Yeah, that’s it… That’s the excuse I’ll use!

Jacobs and Johnston race for the puck after Johnston knocked it away.

Canon 7D, 105mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

Now this next one is a pretty cool photo.  It would be even better if Wells was over to the right more and not directly behind the goal, but I still think it’s pretty good.  I like how you can see the puck a few inches away from Anderson.  Someday I’ll get Pickard in a cool photo like that.

Seattle center Charles Wells watches as Lethbridge goalie Brandon Anderson  blocks a shot in the second period of a game Oct. 1.

Canon 7D, 78mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

Erica, you said you wanted to see more celebration shots.  Well here’s one for you.  Let’s call it a continuation from the last post…

Leftwinger Chance Lund, Rightwinger Burke Gallimore, center Travis Toomey, and defenseman Brenden Dillon celebrate  Toomey’s goal in the third period of a game Oct. 1 against Lethbridge.

Canon 7D, 200mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

I had a decision to make with this next photo.  I had a frame where Lund was in focus by the net and the one below where Bonsor is in focus in the foreground.  I think they’re about equal quality, I just decided to go with the Bonsor pic because the puck is closer to him than it is to Lund.

Seattle defenseman Erik Bonsor attempts a pass to Chance Lund.

Canon 7D, 70mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

This next photo isn’t an action shot, but nice nonetheless.  It’s an environmental portrait of sorts of Dave Sutter.  While in the box between the benches, I need to remember to grab a few shots of the Thunderbirds’ bench.  I figure you guys would like to see that and I have a responsibility to show you that area since I have access to it.  So keep reminding me to look over my right shoulder while on the ice, okay?

Defenseman Dave Sutter listens to Coach Rob Sumner before the overtime period.

Canon 7D, 85mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

Lastly, who doesn’t love more Calvin Pickard shots?  Here’s Calvin making a save during the shootout in the Lethbridge game.

Goalie Calvin Pickard saves a shootout attempt by Lethbridge’s Cam Braes.

Canon 7D, 120mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

Since both Gallimore and Noebels hit their attempts and Pickard blocked both of Lethbridge’s, the Thunderbirds ended up winning the shootout and the game.  So let’s celebrate another T-Birds victory, shall we Calvin?

Pickard celebrates saving a shootout attempt by Lethbridge’s Dylan Tait, the play that clinched a victory and two points for the Thunderbirds.

Canon 7d, 200mm, 1600 ISO, f2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

That’s a resounding yes from Pickard!

That’s it for this post, ladies and gentlemen.  As always, thank you for reading and I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments section below.
Til next time, go T-Birds!

3 responses

  1. Erica

    Haha! I love, love, love the one of Picks celebrating – we were right behind him, so we didn’t get to see his face. That’s awesome!

    It’s interesting seeing the guys on the bench during the game…they look so intense! You got some great shots.

    By the way, photo #2 says Marcel Noebels, but that’s actually Dillon.

    October 11, 2010 at 11:40 am

  2. Erik

    That picture of Sutter (with Salmon in the background) is probably my favorite from this post. If he saw it, I bet he’d like it too.

    October 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

  3. tbirdsphoto

    Ok, I promise to make sure I copy the right cutlines (with the right names!) from now on. Thanks for pointing out those errors to me. And thanks for commenting!

    Kyle

    October 11, 2010 at 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

