The Official Photoblog of the Seattle Thunderbirds

Tri-City Away: Road Trip, Anyone?

I hope everyone had a great Christmas (I know I did, I got a lens!), but now it’s time to prepare for the second half of the WHL season!  I hope to get you in the mood for more T-Birds hockey with two posts in two days; today I’m (finally) writing up a post about my road trip to Kennewick to watch (and shoot) the Thunderbirds take on the Tri-City Americans on December 10 tonight/today (again I’m working past midnight), and a recap of the first half of the season in photos featuring the best images I’ve collected so far this year.   Check back tomorrow for that best-of post, but for now continue reading about the

As with my post about the catwalks, I have a video for you guys to watch and hopefully to enjoy.  Also like my catwalks post, the video is quite short in relation to the drive over as I didn’t film enough content to make a longer one.  I need to remember that for next time (maybe that’s why I need an assistant…).  Anyways, how about we start the video in the most natural starting point I know, in the middle of the trip!

Alright, everyone awake from your slumber and check out some photos!  Unfortunately there’s not too many—I had a really bad game in Tri-City—but there were some blog-worthy shots I’d like to share with you.  But first, here’s a photo I took from that vantage point off I-82 and an explanation on why I only shoot sports…

Canon 7D, 50mm, 1000 ISO, f/22, 1/500th, Manual

Now let’s fast-forward about 90 miles and five hours for our next photo, which takes place in the first period of the game (note: yeah, I’m skipping a lot of time.  Next time I travel to a game, I’ll be sure to take more photos and video of the stadium).  That night, December 10th, was the night of the American’s Teddy Bear Toss, when fans throw teddy bears onto the ice after the home team’s first goal.  Being new to hockey, I had no clue what was going on when all of these teddy bears were flying onto the ice, so I asked the fan I was sitting next to for an explanation.  Luckily she filled me in on the situation and I decided the oddity was worthy of a photo.

Goalie Calvin Pickard (left) chats with defenseman Erik Bonsor (center-left) while teddy bears are being cleaned off the ice during the Americans’ Teddy Bear Toss on Dec. 10.

Canon 7D, 145mm, 1600 ISO, f/2.8, 1/1250th, Manual

The game was delayed for ten minutes while the bears were picked up off the ice.  Overall, I think 3,000 or so teddy bears were thrown onto the ice (and later donated to charity).  Not a bad number, but I’m pretty sure we can surpass that for our own Teddy Bear Toss Jan. 29!  And since I won’t be able to use this joke then, I might as well say it one last time here: that game was the first hockey game I’ve ever seen that was delayed by bears.

You guys can stop groaning now.

Seriously, you can.

Any time now.

Ok, you might as well let it all out at once….

Now that we’re done with that, let’s move on with the photos.  From my vantage point in the stands, I had a nice view of the Tri-City goal and plays on it from the left side.  In this photo, left wing Mitch Elliot tries to get a better angle on Tri-City goalie Drew Owsley.

Canon 7D, 135mm, 1600 ISO, f/2.8, 1/1000th, Manual

From my vantage point, I also had a nice view of the Seattle goal.  Here, Pickard makes a nice stick-save of a Tri-City shot.

Canon 7D, 200mm, 1600 ISO, f/2.8, 1/1000th, Manual

By now you’ve probably noticed that I have a lot of photos of certain players and less of others.  I’m always looking for more shots of the players I don’t have and managed to get one over in Kennewick.  Here, center Brendan Rouse battles for position to control the puck with Tri-City defenseman Drydn Dow.

Canon 7D, 170mm, 1600 ISO, f/2.8, 1/1000th, Manual

And unfortunately here’s the last photo I have for you guys for this post (told you I had a really bad game).  Anyway, here’s defenseman Travis Bobbee (center) shielding the puck from Tri-City center Mason Wilgosh.

Canon 7D, 200mm, 1600 ISO, f/2.8, 1/1000th, Manual

Sorry for the short post, but the video took a while to piece together (I’m still new and slow at working with videos).   Remember to check back tomorrow for the best photos from the first half of the season!

‘Til next time, go T-Birds!

Leave a Reply

